Anonymous

How Much Can A Landlord Charge You In Late Fees Per Month?

10 Answers

Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
This is dependent upon the state in which you reside, as Aicha has said, and it is governed in part by whether or not there are city ordinances that govern late fee administration.  Even if there are no ordinances, a judge may determine what is "excessive".

When not otherwise stated by ordinance, the rule or guidelines that judges use in the US is that the amount of the fee must be reasonably related to the amount it costs your landlord to deal with your lateness.  If you believe you are being charged excessively for late fees, it is best to consult an attorney, who will be familiar with case law and local statutory limitations for your state and city.

Here is another resource for you if you are in the US; it discusses tenant rights and remedies.  Good luck:

US Department of Housing and Urban Development: Tenant Rights and Resources
Aisha Profile
Aisha answered
According to state laws, there is a certain percentage of the total rent that a landlord can charge on late payment of rent. A landlord can charge no more than 2% of the total monthly rent as Late fee, if the rent is equal to $500 or less than that. If the rent is in excess to $500, he can charge 5% of the amount in excess of $500. He can not charge you on per day basis that is against the law.
thanked the writer.
Anonymous
Anonymous commented
It is incorrect that a landlord in the US cannot charge late fees on a per day basis.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
It depends upon the state and contract. In California leases allow charges for late payment, usually a flat or percentage fee and then interest on any remaining unpaid balance, until paid in full. Interest must be simple (not compounded).
Greg Bond Profile
Greg Bond answered
If the owner of a residential property as made an agreement by promissory note to sell you said property at a later date and you are residing in that same property , making the mortgage payment in the form of rent, what extent can they restrict said to use of the premises via a rental agreement in the state of California?
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
The answer should be in your lease and be in compliance with your state statues.

However, in tenancy court the late fees may not be collectible since simply as fees they are not considered rent. If its not rent, the landlord/tenant court has no jurisdiction over fees.

If the lease reads that the fees are considered,"additional rent", then the judge can consider it in land lord tenant court.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
If we pay $1450. Per mo. For rent after 5 days how much can our land lord charge us in illinois? Can he charge $100.00 after the 5th if we are late paying by the 6th or 7th
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
I think reading your rental contract would help you.  If you are more than seven days late he can initiate an eviction process.  Late fee's are the least of you worries  Hope that helped
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Check with your state laws governing landlord/tenant rights. Each state is different on maximum for rent, secuirty deposit, late fees and filing for eviction proceedings.
Lakshmipriya Nair Profile
The length of the time before which late fees can be charged on rental property usually depends on the rental agreement. If it is mentioned in the agreement that the landlord can charge the tenant with late rent then he is entitled to do so. If the rent is not paid within four days of the stipulated date to pay rent then the landlord has the right to charge late fees. The rate of the late fees is also predetermined in the rental contract.

But there is rule that states that the date to pay the rent cannot and should not be earlier than the 1st day of every month. Thus the fourth day is calculated from the date when it is decided as the day to pay the rent. It can be on any day beginning from the 1st day of every month. Yet a landlord cannot charge late fees on the tenant if the rent is paid by midnight of the fourth day.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
A landlord can charge what they want as a late fee. Look at your lease. If you signed it then that ,means that you agreed to the rules. You should pay your rent on time. Stop acting like the victim. If anything the landlord is the victim.

Answer Question

Anonymous