What Are The Penalties For Possession Of Cannabis In Florida State?


1 Answers

Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
The average person charge with possessing cannabis (marijuana or pot) usually has less than 20 grams.  Less than twenty-grams in Florida is a misdemeanor offense.

This misdemeanor is punishable by up to one-year in jail and a $1,000 fine.

The typical first time offender may get a fine and court costs which could add up to $500 or more.  Probation is always a possibility and the court can require up to 12 months probation.

Now, after a new case out of the Second District Court of Appeal, if you are found guilty of possessing marijuana you will lose your driving privileges for two years - no ifs, ands, or buts (the court may not take your license but within 30 days the Department of Highway safety and Motor Vehicles will).

Answer Question