Anonymous

What Date Officially Do The Landlord Turn On The Heat In New York?

4

4 Answers

Hannah Barton Profile
Hannah Barton answered

Throughout the year, temperatures in New York City are very widespread with a current record low of -15 degrees F and a record high of 106 degrees F. New York weather is to the extreme of the weather in the UK and by law, landlords in New York City must provide heating and hot water.

Heating has to be provided in apartments during the ‘heating season’ which is 1st October until 31st May during which, the heating must be turned on depending on the outside temperature. This means that, if the outside temperature falls below 55 degrees Fahrenheit between 6am and 10pm, the indoor temperature must reach at least 68 degrees Fahrenheit. Between 10pm and 6am, if the outside temperature falls below 40 degrees Fahrenheit, the indoor temperature must reach 55 degrees Fahrenheit.

Hot water must also be supplied to apartments 24 hours everyday. The water provided normally must reach a consistent temperature of 120 degrees F or above. If there is a device fitted within the shower or bath that limit’s the temperature of the water for anti-scalding purposes, the required minimum temperature is 110 degrees F.

In New York City, prospective tenants do have the right to see prior bills for items such as heating. They by law are allowed to see the bills from the previous 2 years of which, copies must be sent free of charge. When the dwelling relies on the landlord to pay the utilities bills, tenants have the right to payments for damages if services are discontinued due to the landlord. For example, this could be due to a lack of payment provided to the company. When heating is not supplied efficiently enough by the landlord, the tenant has the right to order in oil for the building.
nicole berlino Profile
nicole berlino answered
There is no date in NYC it depends upon the time of day and outside temperature. Here is the law:

During heat season, residential owners with tenants are required by law to maintain an indoor temperature of at least 68 degrees Fahrenheit between 6:00 A.M. And 10:00 P.M. When the outdoor temperature falls below 55 degrees. Between 10:00 P.M. And 6:00 A.M., building owners must maintain an indoor temperature of 55 degrees when the outside temperature falls below 40 degrees.

Answer Question

Anonymous